California Car Seat Safety Laws Are Changing
Car crashes are the leading cause of death for kids in the US and yet most of us are completely untrained in the best way to keep our kids safe from them: by properly installing a car seat. “Across the country we see a greater than 95% misuse of car seats” Learn how to choose the proper seat, how to install seats properly and common mistakes in installing and strapping kids in to seats. To learn more about choosing the right seat, installing and common mistakes when it comes to kids and carseats, listen to the latest podcast episode on Car Seat Safety.
California has some of the strictest child safety car seat laws in the country and they are about to change. So here, I will cover the current California Car Seat Safety Laws and the new changes that are coming on January 1st, 2017.
Age Birth – 2 *NEW!!
Currently this law is in effect only through the first year, 0-1 but is being extended for toddlers up to age 2.
All children under 2 must be properly secured in a rear-facing car seat.
Age 2 – 4
All children under 4 must be properly secured in a car seat with an internal harness.
Age 4 – 8
All children at least 4 but younger than 8 must ride in a child passenger restraint system or booster seat, unless they are taller than 4′ 9″.
All children 8 years old or younger must ride in the rear seats of the vehicle, except for the following circumstances:
The vehicle has no rear seats
Rear seats are side or rear facing. Child safety restraints must never be placed on side-facing vehicle seats.
The child restraint system cannot be properly installed in the rear seats
Children under 7 occupy all the rear seats.
Medical reason written by the pediatrician.
All children taller than 4′ 9″ are required to be restrained in a seat belt and it is strongly recommended that they ride in the back seat of the vehicle.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration strongly recommends that all children ride in the back seat of the vehicle until 13 years of age. Kids under 13 can get very hurt in an accident if in the front seat. The back seat is the safest place for kids under 13.
In California, everyone adult or child alike is legally required to wear a seat belt in a private passenger vehicle.